ABOUT US

IAESTE Austria is a non profit organization operated by dedicated students, that are working at universities with students, graduates, universities and companies, to provide young science and engineering students from around the world with paid, course related work experience. Our work is organized voluntarily and free of charge by students for students.

IAESTE is an internationally operating student led organization, providing study-field specific internships in the technical and natural sciences. The “International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience” was founded after World War II  in London from 10 European countries. So far, we have created a globally operating network in more than 80 countries, annually providing approximately 5.000 jobs.

IAESTE Austria is member of IAESTE a.s.b.l.. The umbrella organizations headquarter is located in Luxembourg. IAESTE Austria is divided into National Committee (NC) and Local Committees (LC). The National Committee of IAESTE represents at international level and coordinates the local committees at the national level. The local committees are representing IAESTE at every technical university in the country. In addition to the support of the companies and trainees, the local committee also organize company fairs and the annual career shuttle.

Programs of IAESTE Austria

IAESTE Exchange Program

The IAESTE Exchange program provides students from Austrian universities and colleges with internships abroad and also reversed foreign students with internships in Austria. The mission hereby is to promote international understanding and provide students with further education.

IAESTE Career Fairs

IAESTE career fairs, TECONOMY, support science and research. We enable companies to present themselves and their work at universities and to get in contact with students, professors and their scientific staff.

IAESTE Career Shuttle

The IAESTE Career Shuttle are field trips with recruiting character to companies for students in technical and scientific fields of study. It allows companies to interact with students and present themselves and their workplace.

Exchange with other IAESTE committees around the world

To promote international understanding among the members we organize meetings with other committees around the world. In among the fun, friendships are formed, knowledge is shared and relationships built.

Further education among members

Volunteering with IAESTE can be a rewarding experience. By getting involved you can develop new skills. By developing and carrying out different projects  your organisational, managerial, financial and social skills will improve quickly.

HISTORY

Since 1949 Austria participates in the IAESTE program, whereby the exchange program was carried out by ÖKISTA.

At the end of the 80s a dedicated group of students from TU Vienna established, with the goal to increase the number of internships in Austria. In addition to more internships, company contacts, an international study fair and the first career fair (22.November 1989) were organized. In order to support the voluntary work of the students a board of trustees with representatives from science, business and politics was founded to supervise the association.

The success spoke for the initiators. Motivated through this, the IAESTE spirit was spreaded at other technical universities, which had the result that other committees were soon founded. During this initial period, regular meetings were held with ÖKISTA and the ÖKISTA curators, which aimed to achieve a student-run IAESTE. More IAESTE Local committees at BOKU, TU Graz and TU Leoben were founded and IAESTE Austria was now student-runned.

The final independence of IAESTE led by students became reality in January 1992 with the official founding of the Austrian umbrella organization IAESTE Austria. Shortly afterwards the Local committees in Linz and Innsbruck were built. The infrastructure was provided by the universities as well as by the National Union of students. Recognition as a legitimate successor to ÖKISTA was achieved at the international level one year later at the General Conference in Cork, Ireland. The success of the student idea can be measured by the fact that the voluntarily active students in Austria were already able to triple the number of practice places in a year.

The success in Austria was also transferred to neighboring countries such as the Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovenia and Croatia . Also here equally successful organizations were established. Within the first two years, four international seminars and conferences were organized by IAESTE Austria (Post Seminar Conference of the 5th SID in Vienna, 1st Nationalconvention in Modre in June 92, Marketing Conference in Winter 92/93 in Graz, 7th SID in Annaberg). At this time Austria began to become more important to student run organizations on international level.

When the first generation change came the “IAESTE Oldies” emerged and were then the first “IAESTE Austria Alumni”, that were already active in their profession and helped then IAESTE with the future active members.

Board of Trustees

The Board of trustees of IAESTE Austria is put together of well-known persons from industry, universities and politics. This committee supports the work of IAESTE and elects the National Secretary. IAESTE Austria would like to thank the curators for their commitment.

Wolfgang Schreiber (WELAS Invest, Certified Management Consultant) – President of the Board of Trustees

Susanne Gosztonyi (AIT, Department Energy) – Vicepresidentin of the Board of Trustees

Klaus Woltron (MINAS Gruppe, Managing Partner) – Honorary Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Governor of Lower Austria

Governor of Upper Austria

Mayor of Vienna

Federal Minister of Digital and Economic Affairs

Head of Department for Educational Policy, Austrian Economic Chamber Austria

President of Aktienforum, Austrian Federation of Trade Unions

Gerhard Pfeisinger – Head of Federal Ministry of Science and Research, Section III

Scientific Director of Austrian Institute of Technology

Peter Morawetz – Bene, Head of Logistik Austria

Gerhard Schneider – Lallemand, Business Development Manager

Paul Röttig – Hewitt Associates GmbH, Managing Partner

Peter Ozlberger – Kanzlei Ozlberger, lawyer

Markus Tomaschitz – AVL List GmbH

Thomas Faltner – Pamminger Maschinenbau

Martin Gerzabek – Rector of Universität of Natural Resources and Life Science

Sabine Seidler – Rector of the Vienna University of Technology

Harald Kainz –  Rector of the Graz University of Technology

Meinhard Lukas – Rector of the Johannes Kepler University Linz

Wilfried Eichlseder –  Rector of Montanuniversität Leoben

Tilmann Märk –  Rector of University Innsbruck

Fatima Ferreira-Briza – Vice Rector for Research at the University of Salzburg

Johanna Zechmeister – Chairperson of the Austrian Students Union

ÜBER UNS

IAESTE Austria ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein engagierter Studierender und arbeitet an den Universitäten mit Studierenden, Absolventen, Universitäten und Unternehmen im Bereich Technik und Naturwissenschaft. Unsere Arbeit erbringen wir ehrenamtlich und unentgeltlich von Studierenden für Studierende.

IAESTE ist eine international tätige Studierendenorganisation, die fachspezifische Praktika für Studierende technischer und naturwissenschaftlicher Studienrichtungen vermittelt. Gegründet wurde die „International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience“ nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg in London mit ursprünglich 10 Mitgliedsländern. Mittlerweile sind wir in über 80 Ländern vertreten und vermitteln weltweit über 5.000 Praktikumsstellen jährlich.

IAESTE in Österreich setzt sich zusammen aus IAESTE Lokalkomitees (LCs) sowie dem Dachverband IAESTE Austria. IAESTE Austria ist wiederum Mitglied bei IAESTE a.s.b.l. mit Sitz in Luxemburg, der internationalen Dachorganisation. Das Nationalkomitee vertritt IAESTE Austria auf internationaler Ebene und koordiniert die Lokalkomitees auf nationaler Ebene. Ein Lokalkomittee gibt es an jeder technischen Universität. Neben der Betreuung der Firmen und Praktikanten organisieren die Lokalkomitees auch Firmenmessen und das FirmenShuttle.

Aufgaben der IAESTE Austria

IAESTE Austauschprogramm

Mit dem IAESTE Austauschprogramm ermöglichen wir Studierenden österreichischer Universitäten und Fachhochschulen ein Praktikum im Ausland und umgekehrt ausländischen Studierenden ein Praktikum im Inland. Damit fördern wir Völkerverständigung und ermöglichen Studierenden sich weiterzubilden.

IAESTE Karrieremessen

Die IAESTE Karrieremessen fördern Wissenschaft und Forschung. Wir ermöglichen Unternehmen, sich und ihre Arbeit an Universitäten zu präsentieren und in Kontakt mit Studierenden und ProfessorInnen sowie deren wissenschaftlichen MitarbeiterInnen zu treten.

IAESTE FirmenShuttle

Das IAESTE FirmenShuttle ist eine Reihe von Exkursionen mit Recruiting-Charakter für Studierende zu Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Technologie, Wissenschaft und Forschung. Es ermöglicht den Unternehmen mit Studierenden in Kontakt zu treten und sich zu präsentieren.

Austausch mit anderen IAESTE Komitees in aller Welt

Völkerverständigung fördern wir außerdem bei unseren Mitgliedern durch Teilnahme an Treffen mit anderen IAESTE Komitees weltweit.

Weiterbildung unserer Mitglieder

Weiterbildung heißt für uns, unseren Mitgliedern zu ermöglichen, ihre Fähigkeiten auszubauen und ihr Wissen praktisch anzuwenden. Die Durchführung unserer diversen Projekte erfordert viele Fähigkeiten, die unsere Mitglieder bei ihrer Vereinstätigkeit erlernen.

GESCHICHTE

Seit 1949 nimmt Österreich am IAESTE-Programm teil, wobei damals die Abwicklung des Austauschprogramms vorerst noch durch die ÖKISTA stattfand.

Ende der 80er Jahre bildete sich eine Gruppe von engagierten StudentInnen an der TU Wien, die die Zahl der in Österreich verfügbaren Praxisplätze durch ihr Engagement wesentlich steigern konnte. Zusätzlich wurden Firmenkontaktgespräche, eine internationale Studienmesse sowie die ersten Firmenmessen (1. am 22. November 1989) organisiert. Zur Unterstützung der studentischen Arbeit wurde ein Kuratorium mit Vertretern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik geschaffen.

Der Erfolg gab den Initiatoren Recht. Dadurch motiviert, gelang es, den IAESTE-Spirit auch an die anderen Technischen Universitäten zu bringen und dort Komitees zu gründen. In dieser ersten Zeit fanden regelmäßige Gespräche mit der ÖKISTA und den ÖKISTA – Kuratoren statt, die das Erreichen einer studentisch geführten IAESTE zum Ziel hatten. Nachdem der Reihe nach auf der Wiener BOKU sowie den Technischen Universitäten in Graz und Leoben weitere IAESTE-Lokalkomitees entstanden, stand einer Österreichweit studentisch geführten IAESTE nichts mehr im Wege.

Die endgültige Selbständigkeit der studentischen IAESTE wurde im Jänner 1992 mit der offiziellen Gründung der Österreichischen Dachorganisation IAESTE Austria Wirklichkeit. Kurze Zeit danach entstanden auch die Lokalkomitees in Linz und Innsbruck. Die Infrastruktur wurde dabei von den Universitäten und auch von der Hochschülerschaft zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Anerkennung als legitimer Nachfolger der ÖKISTA wurde auf internationaler Ebene ein Jahr später auf der General Conference in Cork, Irland, erreicht. Der Erfolg der studentischen Idee lässt sich daran messen, dass die ehrenamtlich tätigen Studenten die Zahl der in Österreich zur Verfügung gestellten Praxisplätze schon im ersten Jahr der studentisch geführten IAESTE verdreifachen konnten.

Der Erfolg in Österreich wurde durch intensive Kontakte auch auf benachbarte Länder wie Tschechien, Ungarn, Slowenien, Kroatien übertragen, wo ebenso erfolgreiche Organisationen aufgebaut werden konnten. Innerhalb der ersten beiden Jahre fanden dabei vier von IAESTE Austria organisierte internationale Arbeitstreffen und Konferenzen (Post Seminar Conference des 5th SID in Wien, Erster Nationalkonvent in Modra im Juni 92, Marketing Conference im Winter 92/93 in Graz, 7th SID in Annaberg) statt. Österreich begann zu dieser Zeit, ein starker Träger des studentischen Gedankens auf internationaler Ebene zu werden.

Als sich der erste Generationswechsel in der IAESTE abzeichnete, entstanden die „IAESTE Oldies“, nun „IAESTE Austria Alumni“, als Bindeglied der bereits im Berufsleben stehenden IAESTE`ler zu den nun aktiven Studenen.

KURATORIUM

Das Kuratorium der IAESTE Austria setzt sich aus namhaften Personen der Wirtschaft, den Universitäten und der Politik zusammen. Dieses Gremium unterstützt die Bemühungen der IAESTE und wählt den/die NationalsekretärIn. IAESTE Austria bedankt sich herzlich bei den KuratorInnen für ihr Engagement.

Wolfgang Schreiber (WELAS Invest, Certified Management Consultant) – Präsident des Kuratoriums

Susanne Gosztonyi (AIT, Department Energy) – Vizepräsidentin des Kuratoriums

Klaus Woltron (MINAS Gruppe, Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter) – Ehrenvorsitzender des Kuratoriums

Erwin Pröll – Landeshauptmann Niederösterreich

Josef Pühringer – Landeshauptmann Oberösterreich

Michael Häupl – Bürgermeister der Stadt Wien

Reinhold Mitterlehner – Bundesminister für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft

Klaus Schedler – Wirtschaftskammer Österreich, Abteilung für Bildungspolitik

Hellmut Longin – Industriellenvereinigung, Präsident Aktienforum

Gerhard Pfeisinger – Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft und Forschung, Sektion III

Wolfgang Knoll – Austrian Institute of Technology, Wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer

Peter Morawetz – Bene, Leitung Logistik Österreich

Gerhard Schneider – Lallemand, Business Development Manager

Paul Röttig – Hewitt Associates GmbH, Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

Peter Ozlberger – Kanzlei Ozlberger, Rechtsanwalt

Markus Tomaschitz – AVL List GmbH

Thomas Faltner – Pamminger Maschinenbau

Martin Gerzabek – Rektor der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

Sabine Seidler – Rektorin der Technischen Universität Wien

Harald Kainz – Rektor der Technischen Universität Graz

Meinhart Lukas – Rektor der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz

Wilfried Eichlseder – Rektor der Montanuniversität Leoben

Tilmann Märk – Rektor der Universität Innsbruck

Fatima Ferreira-Briza – Vizerektorin für Forschung der Universität Salzburg

Lucia Grabetz – Vorsitzender der Österreichischen Hochschülerschaft